Posted by: kendra | July 7, 2011

Bike Video Thursday: Detroit Bike City

A few years ago, I was at the bicycle summit in dc and met someone from the Hub of Detroit. Looks like they are doing better than ever.

Anyhow, I grew up in outside of Flint and in the suburbs of Detroit, while my parents were from Detroit proper. When I told my mom about meeting someone who was into bikes from Detroit, she had a million stories about bikes. Like during the war(?), my grandmother somehow got my aunt a bike after her doctor wrote a note, and all three of the kids shared it. My dad lived in Royal Oak, and always told the story that he bought a used bike from someone and fixed it up, but only put brakes on the front wheel, because he didn’t have any money for brake cable. He immediately sold it to my uncle is my impression, after the first flying over the handlebars. My uncle doesn’t remember that at all.

I was always happily surprised when my dad, who worked his entire life for the auto industry, was not surprised by my love of bikes at all.

Anyhow, it is pretty awesome to see Detroit people loving bikes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

