Posted by: kendra | June 1, 2009

General Motors Goes Bankrupt




Bike as Chevy

Originally uploaded by kendra e

Here’s a break to acknolwedge the General Motors bankruptcy.

I grew up in Michigan and Ohio, and my entire extended family worked for General Motors. I clearly am not a fan of cars, but it is really surprising to me what has happened with the car companies.

I have seen some posts that Michigan should take all those factories and turn them into parks or start making bikes, but while I think that would be cool, I’m not sure people realize how many people are tied to working for the car companies.

Anyhow, here’s my bike with a chevy mask on it from the Halloween ride. Also I tried to find the 1970s commerical with baseball, hot dogs, apple pie and Chevrolet commerical, but no luck, so here’s an ad with the cast of Bonanza.




Responses

  1. Retool em to make trains & rail infrastructure!

  2. that would be good!

  3. Hey, here’s something else totally unrelated to bikes! The Detroit Free Press photo essay on John DeLorean!

    I used to see him in King’s and the Stop and Shop in Madison, and one time I talked to him the Convent Station Post Office. I told him that my dad had a letter from him (John Delorean) from when he (my dad) first started working there telling him what a great job he was doing. What was funny was John D. pretended like he totally remembered my dad and asked what he was doing now, and then pretended like he was really interested in my long winded story about my dad’s toy trains set up all around his yard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

