Posted by: kendra | March 20, 2009

Bike This Weekend Open Thread

Yay! It’s the weekend! I have been bombarded with bike news since I got back from the summit. It looks like some people are forming a New Jersey Bicycle Coalition, some others are trying to get bike racks on buses and others are trying to get grant money to get their bike advocacy programs going. Whew. I had to go back on the coffee just to try to sort through it all.

Anyhow, I was just riding my bike around the green and not having a great time with cars getting in the inside lane and then cutting me off, because they needed to speed up for that next 8 feet advantage to the light. One woman honked and yelled at me that I should not be riding in the road, which you know is a pet peeve of mine. Anyhow I was right about just past this spot in the pic and I saw a police officer and told him and he pulled her over. I hope he told her bikes do belong in the road.

Anyhow, hope you have a great couple of days off!


Responses

  1. What’s especially annoying about people who tell you to get out of the road is they stop to yell at you, but when you start to say anything, even if it is calm, they just like flip you off and take off.

  2. 1950 song, “two on a tandem”

  3. I’m gonna try this ride http://www.bikely.com/maps/bike-path/263187
    tomorrow morning.

  4. did you do that ride?

  5. I did. It was long but pretty fun, went with two buds from Budd Lake. Cloudy day but nice scenery.


Leave a Reply

Categories

