Posted by: kendra | November 18, 2008

I’m starting to think Denville is really the new Portland

Ok, so you have your Montclair, and West Windsor and places that are all awesome, but Denville really has the people. First you have metal bike commuter, and then Mayor of Denville, Ted Hussa, who has pretty regularly rode his bike to Morristown for the Critical Mass Ride, and at one point I think he told the newspaper that he wanted to be the bike mayor, and was interested in riding his bike to Madison, Wisconsin and stop to see what biking friendly towns were like.

Then there is Maribyrd, who shows up for the ride quite often, and I think she can do a bunnyhop over a log, which is something I really can’t do. Then there is Peter, who I am pretty sure dragged Victor to our ride in August. Now that Victor is hanging up the touring bike blog for love, check out Peter’s Crazy Guy on a Bike Blog. I started reading it this weekend, but then got distracted by the story of the Bloody Benders, and had to see if I could solve the mystery of where they went, which I couldn’t, so now I’m back. Plus what’s this race thing in Denville? I really need to get out of town a little bit more often.

Anyhow, that’s a lot of pretty bikey people in Denville, that I know about it, and with the mayor all into it, you guys should really think about the whole New Portland thing. Just an idea. I’m really just the idea person.

Also I think I might need a dif city to be my new Portland, that all towns should try to be. Any ideas?


Responses

  1. Denville is the spot!

  2. It’s great to see so many bikey people in our area. I’m glad I can be a part of them.

  3. The Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel seems to be undertaking your challenge.

    http://www.jsonline.com/news/milwaukee/34311019.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

