Posted by: kendra | October 31, 2008

Bike This Weekend Open Thread

Photo by SpacePotato!

According to this NYT artcicle, commuter cycling grew 35 percent in one year.

It also looks like they passed out lights to people on bikes just ahead of the time change this weekend; that’s a clever idea.

Tonight is the Halloween Bike Ride, and I’m still up in the air about a costume, but I have one for my bike, sorta. It’s not a good one, so I’m not bragging about it.

The next month’s ride is on the day after Thanksgiving; does anyone want to go for a ride during the day on Thanksgiving day? It seems like Thanksgiving is a nice day for a ride because the roads aren’t very busy? Anyone? Well, think about it. I’m signed up for a 5k in the morning, and am pretty slow, so I should finish up by the afternoon. I know most folks do family things, but for those of us who have our family in faraway places, we have the holiday wide open. Do the diners stay open? I remember one sad Thanksgiving where I couldn’t find a cup of coffee anywhere, it was really traumatic, but that doesn’t have anything to do with bikes, so never mind.

See you tonight!


Responses

  1. I am also going to move the Pedal Pusher of the Week to Mondays or Tuesdays, because I didn’t stop any total strangers on the road this week.

  2. here’s some pics from the Halloween ride and a party afterwards at Martys

    Bike as Chevy
  3. Sunday I rode my bike to meet up with a friend on top of the hill. Then we rode to another friend on the side of the lake. We all rode through 3 giant railroad tunnels to the ice tunnel in Byram, hung out, 27″ wheels on the skatepark. Fun ! On to the Gristmill Cafe and had a really really good lunch with some sweet jazz swingin. 2 more tunnels, another lake, railroad trail. Text message, Goulash at Anns. Canal path, goulash and Ann… oh yeah!


Leave a Reply

Categories

