Posted by: kendra | July 7, 2008

I Rock!

 


Bicycle Guitar

Originally uploaded by shacker

I am going to take it easy on the posts for the next couple of weeks, because I have to gear up for Ladies Rock Camp! I went last year and sorta learned to play the bass, and haven’t really played since then, but have practiced counting to four. Anyhow, be sure to catch my big ladies rock camp showcase at the Knitting Factory on Sunday, July 20 at 6.

If you want to go to Ladies Rock Camp yourself, they are having a ladies rock camp clearance sale, if you sign up with a friend, you both get 20% off. It is 3 days long, and you learn to pay an instrument, and also form a band and write a song and then perform it on the last day. It is insane. Last year one band broke up, which I never understand really, because my band was so busy trying to figure out how to play whatever instrument they had that we never really did learn each others names and just had to give people nicknames. I don’t know how they had time to get that mad at each other, but some people are more advanced, I guess. Ladies Rock Camp is actually a fundraiser for Willie Mae Rock Camp for Girls, which is an awesome summer camp and I think it also might now be an afterschool program for girls, where they learn to ROCK OUT.

Anyhow, I will post less, so that means you can post more. I understand the next Morristown Critical Mass is a picnic ride, and also I will fix the calendar for this blog so people can add rides. What else? I talked to some folks about the bike non-profit, and it sounds like I need bodies to be on the board, which this person told me could meet just once or twice a year. Still need a catchy name.

Anyhow, I’ll be around, just not as much!

Rock on!


Responses

  1. p.s. this is totally your chance to post a bunch of bike videos that are not folky.

  2. That sounds like fun. Was last year the first year you rock camped? Bands are funny, if things dont click you either act like total jerks or little angry girls, usually a bit of both. I’ve finally found some MELLOW people to play music with and keep it FUN. Are you staying in NYC? That Ric bass is great!

  3. Well, I think it is ok at girl’s rock camp to be angry girls. Yeah, I went last year for the first time, and I was really nervous, but it was a total blast. I am staying with another camper in Brooklyn. I know last year it really went for like 12 hours a day, so I don’t think I’ll get out much, because I like sleeping.

  4. Cool! 12 hours! Coffee up You should have like a free jazz noise improv section to your song.


Leave a Reply

Categories

