Posted by: kendra | June 29, 2008

2 Men on a Bike Hit by a Car in Lake Hiawatha

Updated:  morning Daily Record Article

 

The daily record has this story about 2 men who were riding in a section of Parsippany and hit by a car and killed.  More details, but not many in this Star-Ledger article, which says the accident happened at 771 Knoll Road.  

It sounds like it might have been a hit and run, or he thought he hit a deer.

I keep updating this, and will clean it up in the morning, but it sounds like the people on the bike were coming home from work at Outback Steakhouse.

Responses

  1. I’m not actually sure what the protocol is when you think you hit a deer, you should prolly get out and check your car, and then you could be like hey, that is a person!

    This is really awful.

  2. I don’t know the full details yet, but this is very tragic.

  3. Yeah, it really is.

    I spoke to Karen at TransOptions today about putting together a bike light giveaway and maybe trying to do it through restaurants, since that’s where people are riding home from at night. This is an idea people have been kicking around for awhile, and maybe it’s time we just try to get it together and just do it. I’m going to get in touch with some similar programs and find out if they had a grant, or where they bought their lights in bulk and stuff, but if transtoptions could get some groups behind this idea, that would be really helpful.

    If you have any ideas on how this would work out, let me know.

  4. Here’s a poster who says the speed limit on that road is 25 mph.

  5. I think that Planet Bike will donate (at very low cost) their basic front and rear light kits to organizations doing such handouts. Get in contact with them and ask!

  6. Thanks Andy! I sent them an email and I’ll give them a call next week. I know that TransOptions is giving a press conference week about bicycle safety, but I’m not really sure what their plan is. I’m looking forward to hearing what they are planning.

    Anyhow, I still think the bike light giveaway is a no brainer.

  7. Listen , what happened was messed up . The kid was a good kid , i knew him briefly. but have hung out with him on previous occasions. The kid or the family of the victims dont deserve this. It almost makes me sick to my stomach thinking someone i know would capable of such a crime. But accidents do happen. i live in the area. about 4mins from where the accident happened. he shouldnt of been speeding but the road is dark and if you were speeding im sure you’d have a hard time seeing . MY PRAYERS GO OUT TO CHRIS HOPPE AND FAMILY > AND MOST IMPORTANTLY THE VICTIMS OF HIS ACCIDENT>

  8. p.s i hung out with him about an hour before the accident happened. and he did not seem intoxicated in any form .

    ask god for his forgiveness , he will forgive .

  9. Hey FoD, It is really messed up. I can tell that you are upset over it. I do have some sympathy for the driver, but having sympathy for him does not mean I think he should avoid jail, and I don’t think that’s what you are saying either.

    I am not religous, but I’m thinking that if you are, you can totally expect God to forgive you in your afterlife, but still expect to be in jail in this one.

    I am sure your friend did not mean to kill 2 people. Unfortunately, it seems like a series of decisions he made led to that, and I guess what most people seem have found especially shocking was that he left the scene. What if he could have helped someone? It is pretty messed up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

