Posted by: kendra | June 16, 2008

Where are my bike racks?


So after taking a month or so off of pushing the bike racks, which in case you missed the earlier posts, the town is installing right now. The bike racks cost a business $300, and they can have them installed in front of the own business, or somewhere else, like maybe in front of a restaurant or a grocery or where they think they would like their bike rack with their logo or name on it so everyone can see it, and it will stay there reminding everyone for forever and ever how awesome it was that they in 2008, they sponsored a bike rack because they are forward thinking and love the people of Morristown. Here’s a link to the order form, if that sounds like your business or office.

Anyhow, I have not heard of any new stores or banks signing up and if you know me, you know I am pretty impatient, especially when I am really excited about something. I keep going over to visit the bike rack that is installed in front of Century 21 Department Store, and I can’t wait to park my bike in front of somewhere else and go shopping. I have to say, and this is probably very connected to how impatient I tend to be, that while everyone else thinks it is going great, I really can’t wait for the first order to be sent. I am more than a little disappointed that places where I do business or have accounts are not signing up, and to be honest I am thinking about moving all my money to the one bank in town that has signed up. What’s the deal banks and places with my retirement account? It’s an permanent ad and goodwill towards people on bikes, join up!

i also have not heard too much from different realtors or apartment complexes about how aparments or condos in town are becoming more bike friendly, though the marketing departments seem all over it. This poster above is in a downtown apartment building, where the manager/owner said no one there really wanted bikes, and if the city tried to put a bike rack in front of their building, they would really be pissed. Why have a poster making it look it’s fun to live in the building and ride to work then? Oh, it turns out that bike culture is for sale, I just wish some more stores/banks/apartments in town would buy some!

Please ask your banks and the places that you shop to order a bike rack.


Responses

  1. I guess the more I think about it, the more annoyed I am that businesses aren’t really excited about bike racks. I have been shopping at one grocery store for about 10 years 4x a week, and I know I’m not the only one who rides there. One of the places I bank comments on my helmet every time I go in there. Why would a business not want a bike rack? It just makes me annoyed as a consumer that they want my money but act like this request is from mars.

    I also don’t really get how people like the idea of sponsoring a lamppost around town, but are squeamish or mad about the idea of a bike rack. The apartment building above is not the only one who talked about the sidewalk in front of their building as their property.

    I know I must be missing something fundamental, but I can’t figure out what it is.

  2. ok, so my andy rooney style rants might be a little be premature. I heard just 2 seconds ago that there are 19 bike racks waiting for plaques and then they are going to be installed.

  3. However, there are several online interfaces available where one needs to click
    on different types of options to send HTML code in email
    or to generate HTML code. There are many web designers who charge huge amount of money to do this job for you.
    Html form builder renders efficient service to online business companies to create any
    sort of online form to integrate it into their
    website and receive incoming information from online visitors.

  4. Cheers to your PROFITmatic Turnkey Automated Internet Profit Center,.
    ) and installation used are correct for your situation and
    the location of your wine cellar. Therefore it’s better to always do the intelligent point and take these tips.

  5. Horizontal Siding and Vertical Sliding refers to the outer layer of
    a wall, with shingles or boards or gaps subtly
    angled to shed water. ) and installation used are
    correct for your situation and the location of your wine cellar.
    We saw earlier that we could, through links to email addresses,
    contact directly with an email.


Leave a Reply

Categories

