Posted by: kendra | April 15, 2008

Slow down, you move too fast

Tito\'s BurritosIt is totally great out so I’ve started riding my cruiser bike around. If you see someone on a cruiser singing Feeling Groovy, that’s me. I just can’t stop myself. Anyhow, Here’s a bunch of stuff I have been meaning to post and never got around to, in no particuclar order.

Tito’s Burritos! Tito’s Burritos, which is now in Summit, is opening a place in Morristown on Washington Street where Ben and Jerry’s used to be. Their menu looks awesome, and includes a portabello burrito and they said they are looking into the bike racks. I am all about anything that involves hot sauce, so I can’t wait for them to open, which I think they said might be in June. They also seem to have a truck that runs on grease, which is pretty cool. Anyhow, welcome to Tito’s, whenever they get here.

Rides! There a few rides coming up that people might want to check out. On May 4, there is the Five Boro Bike Tour, which is SOLD OUT. If you missed your chance to sign up, you can still check out the Tour de Montclair, which starts at 12:30 in the afternoon, which is good for people who like to sleep in, and looks like an awesome time. Here’s the link where you can register online.

On May 31, there is the Bike & Hike that starts at Loantaka, and you can pick a ride of 35, 20, 10, 2 or 5 miles. It starts at 7:30 for people who hate sleeping in and times are staggered.

I am also thinking of a Get Your Bike out ride in May where we can just ride on the traction line and back to Calaloo and get a mimosa. I need a catchier name tho, which I will be working on in all my free time.

Fancy Dinner! There is a Green Tie Gala at the Hyatt Morristown on May 3. They will be giving out awards to some folks and has something to do with sustainability. Whatever, the menu looks awesome! Peak brewery organic beer, martinis made with green tea, butternut bisque with chive oil, Roasted Asparagus Risotto With Truffle Oil and Caramelized Shallots,Baby Vegetables and Tofu Crouton or Free-Range Organic Chicken Breast served with seasonal Baby Vegetables, It looks awesome and I would totally go, but I’m all vegan, which means I would have to be annoying about the bisque and whether the risotto had dairy, and have to cry that I don’t know what Orange Honey and Mocha Panna Cotta With Candied Orange Tuille is but it sounds delicious and I wouldn’t eat it. I wonder if I can just go for the drinks part, because I’m ready. Anyhow, you should totally go and eat two desserts, just because I’m being difficult doesn’t mean you have to be.

If you’d like to know how to cook something equally delicious, but more grainy, and in your own ktichen, there is a Learning to Cook With Whole Grains class at Morristown High School on April 28. Jamie Kovacs is teaching it and it fits into the bike thing, because she totally rides one. I have all a bunch of wheatberries and quinoa and have no idea what to do with it, so I might be there. I like having all that healthy stuff around, but in reality I just drink coffee.

Do you use the traction line? If you aren’t doing anything this Saturday, it is the town wide clean up day. There is going to be a group cleaning up the Ford Avenue playground, and maybe part of Ford Avenue. I adopted the spot on the Corner of Ford to the Traction Line to clean up, and you can tell I haven’t been out there cleaning, because it is totally craptacular right now. Anyhow, show up at town hall at 8:30 or just check out that area a bit later in the morning and maybe we can get the trash up so it will be fresh and pretty for the start of summer. If don’t want to show up, but are interested in adopting your own spot to clean up in Morristown, give Kathleen Margiotta a call at 973-644-4363.

Ok, I’m off! Hello lamp-post, what’s cha knowing, I’ve come to watch your flowers growin!


Responses

  1. Maybe one day you’ll resurrect the post ride party and serve Tito’s ;0)


Leave a Reply

Categories

