Posted by: kendra | February 26, 2008

Movie Madness, or Hey, Help Me Out Here

At the Drive-InOriginally uploaded by mfajardo

I finally started calling around and organizing things I need for the bike-in movie nights this summer. I have some tentative locations, and think if they fall through, I have some tentative back-up locations.

So, I started calling around today to see about equipment and was quoted prices from $800 all the way up to $3,000. I don’t think this needs to be a fancy deal at all, and I know there are some people out there who live around Morristown that have some sort of back-yard set up, and I have seen some screens for sale really cheap.

This is what I need: If you know someone with a backyard movie set-up or even someone who can help me find it, please have them email me or let me know how I can find them. If you even think you can put something together that would work, that would be awesome.

Don’t make me show these movies on a laptop!


Responses

  1. Hey! After yesterday’s meltdown, I checked around some more and found someone to do it much much cheaper. Still looking for some local who wants to do it out of local pride or something, but not as desperate as I was!

    Now is the time to get your final suggestions in for movies before I start showing my favorites, like valley girl and hair.

  2. If you got a screen (would a wall work?) and a projector could you set up at a public park? I have no idea what that involves. Permits?
    A bike movie I saw that was pretty good is ‘The Flying Scotsman’. I’d watch it again wherever on whatever. I can easily provide a sound system if that can help, oh yeah a very very loud one too, if that helps.

  3. I think a wall would work, and the screen seems pretty easy. That sound be awesome about the sound; yeah, then we would just need a projector and screen, and maybe something else that I can’t think of.

    I just have to have it figured out before I apply for the permit for a park; when I started babbling about it earlier this year, one of my friends told me I had no idea what I was getting into and I was really insulted, but then it turns out she was right!

    Anyhow, I’m going to see if I can find someone with a projector and tell them you are totally the sound guy maybe.

  4. Here’s a forum on backyard movie stuff, in case anyone wants to make one and then let me use your projector:

    http://backyardtheater.com/

  5. I could cobble a traveling sound system pretty easily. It would only be pretty loud.
    Maybe Clarence from Bike TV and http://www.streetfilms.org has some idears.

  6. I think you should do bike themed movies. E.T. had that bike that flew (or something) and what was that old one from the 70’s or 80’s about the kid who pretended to be Italian and joined a racing team – Breaking Away?
    (btw, not really a fan of E.T.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

